Welcome to Lockhart Shire Council

Home of the True Country Spirit

Lockhart Shire nestles in the heart of the Riverina and is one of the regions most productive agricultural and pastoral areas. Of strong pioneering heritage and steeped in history, Lockhart Shire's main towns and villages include Lockhart, The Rock, Yerong Creek, Pleasant Hills and Milbrulong. Each community has its own unique character and history, and the Shire offers visitors a relaxed country atmosphere steeped in history.

Lockhart is centrally situated 62km southwest of Wagga Wagga, 62km east of Narrandera and 105km north of Albury. The Rock is on the Olympic Highway 25km south of Wagga Wagga with Yerong Creek another 15km down the highway.

New Streetlight Fault Reporting System

28 Jul 2022 2:14 PM - Essential Energy releases new easy-to-use tool

To ensure our communities are safe and their streets are appropriately lit, Essential Energy has released a new, easy-to-use tool for reporting faulty streetlights on our website, replacing the previous "Neatstreets" system.

Residents can access the portal from their computer, mobile, or tablet via the Essential Energy website at the link below, with no need to download an application or log in to an account.

If you are aware of a damaged or non-operational streetlight in your area, visit  https://essentialenergy.com.au/outages-and-faults/streetlight-faults or phone 13 20 80 (24 hours/7days a week).

By reporting broken or faulty streetlights you are helping create and maintain a street lighting system that is reliable, energy efficient and safer for your community.

Draft Plan Of Management - Crown Land Managed By Council

A Draft Plan of Management (PoM) for Crown Land managed by Council and Council-owned land classified as ‘Community Land’ has been developed under section 3.23 (6) of the Crown Land Management Act 2016 (CLM Act) and section 39 of the Local Government Act 1993 (LG Act). 

The Draft PoM details the purpose and use of each parcel of land under Council’s control, including permitted activities. The Draft PoM reflects the current arrangements, uses and activities. The Draft PoM is now on public exhibition along with all the relevant attachments and can be viewed on Council’s website (www.lockhart.nsw.gov.au) or at the Lockhart Shire Council Administration Building, 65 Green Street Lockhart.

A public hearing under section 40A (LG Act) will be held in relation to changing the category of Crown Land managed by Council (in this instance Lockhart Recreation Ground - category of the land to be changed from Area of Cultural Significance to General Community Use).

The public hearing will be held at 11.00 am on 18 August 2022 at the Lockhart Shire Council Chambers, 65 Green Street Lockhart.

Submissions on the Draft PoM should be addressed to the General Manager, Lockhart Shire Council, P O Box 21 Lockhart NSW 2646 or emailed to mail@lockhart.nsw.gov.au and will be received up until 5.00pm on 12 September 2022.

Draft Plan of Management July 2022Draft Plan of Management - Appendix A Community Land Inventory

2021 Land Values - Valuer General NSW

The Valuer General offers land value summaries for residential, commercial, industrial and rural properties in all local government areas and different regions  across NSW.

The summaries discuss the movement of land values in each area, as well as:

  • Land value trends – These show the overall movement of residential, commercial, industrial and rural land values over 12 months. 
  • Median land values and sale prices – These graphs show the movement of median land values and sale prices over five years. We only publish graphs if we have enough property sales for them to be meaningful. 
  • Typical land values for all council areas – We use these as our benchmark for valuations. See Valuation method for more information.
  • Added value of improvement tables – These show dollar values per square metre for the added value of improvements to a local government area’s main residential property types. By analysing property sales, we learn how much these improvements add to land value.

To access the summary for Lockhart LGA please CLICK HERE and use the drop-down menu to select Lockhart from the list.