Lockhart Shire Business Awards

2018 Lockhart Shire Business Excellence Awards

The Lockhart Shire Business Excellence Awards celebrates and recognises local business for their achievements. The Awards are a joint collaboration between The Rock Progress Association, Lockhart Progress Association, the Rotary Club of Lockhart and Lockhart Shire.

Entry to the 2018 Lockhart Shire Business Excellence Awards is free and open to all businesses located within Lockhart Shire, with nominations open between 1 February 2018 and 16 March 2018. Entry forms will be available in shopfronts throughout Lockhart Shire and on this website. Additional entry forms will be available at the Council Administration Offices. Completed entry forms are to be returned to Lockhart Shire Council, PO Box 21, Lockhart   NSW   2656. 


•     Young Entrepreneur (18-35)

•     Employee of the Year

•     Business Leader

•     Excellence in Small Business


Finalists will be selected based on the number of nominations received in their specific category, and will be notified of their selection on 23 March 2018. Finalists will receive a Finalist Pack that includes an Invitation to the Lockhart Shire Business Excellence Awards Presentation Evening, the Judging Criteria including a brief questionnaire and General Information about the Awards. Finalists will be judged based on information received by each business.

Awards Evening:

The Presentation Evening will be a ticketed event which will include talks by Industry Leaders / Experts, an evening meal and the naming of the Lockhart Shire Business Excellence Award winners. The evening is an ideal opportunity for business owners to share the accolade of becoming a finalist with their family, friends and staff. The evening acknowledges everyone's hard work and contribution to the business' success - a shared celebration of the business' achievements.

The Winner in each category will receive a Trophy and Certificate, with the runner up receiving a Highly Commended Certificate. The Winner of the overall Lockhart Shire Business Excellence Award will be selected from the four finalists and will receive a Trophy and Certificate.

Key Dates:

Entries Open

1 February 2018

Entries Closes

16 March 2018

Finalists Announced / Finalist Pack distributed

23 March 2018

Questionnaires Returned

13 April 2018

Judging Process

23-27 April 2018

Presentation Evening

10 May 2018

2017 Lockhart Shire Business Excellence Awards Winners

Business Leader

  • Lockhart IGA, Nick Mathews

  • Runner Up - Trigger Vale Sheep Studs, Andrew & Mandi Bouffler

Employee of the Year

  • Olivia McDonnell, Lockhart IGA

  • Runner Up - Hugh Nott, Delta Agribusiness

  • Runner Up - Alan Gundrill, Lockhart Shire Council

Excellence in Small Business

  • MWS Fabrication Pty Ltd, Mark Schirmer

  • Runner Up - Lockhart Pharmacy, Adam Reinhard

  • Runner Up - Hair on the Rocks/Innate Beauty - Kelly Jackson & Linda Coombes

Young Entrepreneur (18 to 35)

  • David Lawson, GD & DW Lawson

  • Runner Up - Cindy Bennett, Lockhart Gourmet Meats

  • Runner Up - Mark Schirmer, MWS Fabrication Pty Ltd

Business of the Year

  • Lockhart IGA, Nick Mathews.